Sunday, April 22, 2007

Captain McGuirk

As reported Friday in the Salem News, Brian McGuirk will captain the 2007-08 Terriers. McGuirk, who scored the game-winning goal in this past season’s Beanpot Championship game, was announced as captain at last night’s team banquet at the George Sherman Union. Each table had a maroon and orange ribbon in honor of Virginia Tech. Annual awards went to:

-Ed Carpenter Award (Leading Scorer): Peter MacArthur

-Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship (Outstanding Jr/Sr. Defenseman): Matt Gilroy

-Regina Eilberg Scholarship (Outstanding Academic/Athletic Performance): John McCarthy

-Bennett McInnis (Spirit Award): Craig Sanders & Sean Sullivan

-Most Improved Player: Matt Gilroy & Dan McGoff

-Albert Sidd Unsung Hero Award: Dan McGoff, Brian McGuirk, John McCarthy (The Green Line)

-George V. Brown MVP Award: John Curry

Emcee Bernie Corbett reminded attendees that there are only 168 days to the first practice and that the season will open in Alaska and include a road trip to Ann Arbor, Michigan to meet the Wolverines and the Madison Square Garden game on November 24th against Cornell.

Former BU captain Mike Sullivan and Assistant Head Coach David Quinn leave tomorrow to coach Team USA in the World Championships. The USA staff also includes Brent Bergland, former Terrier team manager and video coordinator, who now holds the latter position for the Bruins.
Thanks to blog contributor CDRAL for these notes from the banquet. We hope to add some additional information later from some other folks who attended the event.

No comments:

Site Meter