Saturday, April 19, 2008

Terrier Hockey Banquet

Posted by CDRAL

The 45th annual Friends of Hockey Banquet was held last evening at the George Sherman Union. It was a pleasant evening weather wise and the turnout was a very nice one. In addition to the salute to the team members and departing seniors, there was a video presentation of hockey highlights of the past season..

A number of former Terriers who are now part of the Friends of BU Hockey Board were present including Chairman Paul Giandomenico, Dennis O'Connell, Brian Collins, and Mike Sylvia.

Tim Regan, the MVP of the 1972 NCAA tournament, yielding just one goal in Final Four and shutting out Cornell in the championship game [Recap from Sports Illustrated Vault] and a BU Hall of Famer, attended along with his wife.

The year end awards were presented as follows:

Ed Carpenter Award (Team Leading Scorer): Peter MacArthur

Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship ( Junior/Senior Defenseman): Brian Strait

Regina Eilberg Scholarship (Excellence in Academics/Athletics): John McCarthy

Bennett McInnis Spirit Award: Craig Sanders (Second Consecutive year)

Most Improved Player: Bryan Ewing

Friends/Albert Sidd Unsung Hero Award: Ryan Weston (absent as he is in AHL playoffs)

George V. Brown Award /MVP: Peter MacArthur

Team Captains were announced for 2008-2009: Co-Captains: Matt Gilroy and John McCarthy
Alternate: Brian Strait

BU will open next season by hosting the Icebreaker Tournament at Agganis Arena, featuring North Dakota, Michigan State, and UMass

An enjoyable evening for all I would say.

1 comment:

Terrier Blogger said...

Displaying Drury-esque humbleness, CDRAL neglected to include in his banquet report that he, too, was recognized. He received The Friends Award for contributions to the program. This is not an annual honor, but is awarded periodically. CDRAL, who was a manager of the '71 and '72 national championship teams, has been a longtime active member of the Friends of BU Hockey, has organized a BU alumni Web site for players and managers, and has become a contributor to this blog, just to mention a few of his continuing contributions.

Site Meter