Monday, April 23, 2012

Megan named 2012-13 captain

Wade Megan, who led BU in goal-scoring with 20, was announced as next season’s captain at the 49th annual Friends of BU Hockey Awards banquet Saturday night. The rising senior from Canton, N.Y. also shared the team’s Most Improved Player Award with blueliner Pat MacGregor.  The other honorees,
Clifford  Fitzgerald Scholarship (Outstanding Jr/Sr Defenseman): Sean Escobedo
Regina Eilberg Scholarship (Excellence in Athletics and Academics: Ryan Ruikka
Ed Carpenter Award (Leading Scorer): Alex Chiasson
Bennett McInnis Award (Spirit of a BU Hockey Player): Chris Connolly
Friends Albert Sidd Unsung Hero: Matt Nieto and Garrett Noonan
George V. Brown Award (MVP) Kieran Millan

Millan was a repeat winner of the Brown Award.  

In addition to receiving the Eilberg Scholarship, Ruikka will graduate with two bachelor's degrees in economics and math along with a master's degree in economics. He also received the College of Arts & Sciences Prize for Excellence in Economics.

Looking ahead
Team USA captured its fourth consecutive gold medal at the World U18 Tournament with a 7-0 thrashing of Sweden in the championship game. 2013 recruit Danny O’Regan scored a goal and assist and was +4 for the game. He skated on the squad’s top line, which accounted for five of the seven goals.  2012 recruit Matthew Lane was named one of the top three U.S. players in the tournament, along with Seth Jones and Collin Olson. 2012 recruit Matt Grzelcyk also was a member of the gold-medal winning team. 

2012 recruit Robert Polesello and 2013 recruit Robbie Baillargeon each scored a goal in Indiana’s 5-2 win against Dubuque in the first game of the playoff series. Then next night, Baillarageon scored the Ice’s first goal in a 6-3 win.

2012 recruit Matt O’Connor stopped 40 shots in Youngstown’s 5-3 win against Green Bay, evening the USHL quarterfinal playoff series at one apiece.

Looking back
Former BU assistant captain Brian Strait played in Pittsburgh’s final three games of its first-round playoff series against Philadelphia, which the Flyers won, 4-2. Six years ago, Strait captained the gold-medal winning Team USA at the World U18s, which, like this year's U18s, also featured three future Terriers, the other two being Colin Wilson and Luke Popko.

Joe Pereira’s fourth goal in seven playoff games was Idaho’s only score in the Steelhead’s 4-1 loss to Las Vegas in ECHL playoff action.

Chris Higgins has 10 points (2g, 8a) in nine playoff games for South Carolina/ECHL.

Watch for the next installment of Terrier Tales this week. Blog contributor mh82 looks back 15 years to 1996-97 Terriers "few good men" squad that won the Hockey East title, advanced to the Frozen Four and then upset defending champ Michigan in the NCAA semifinal.

1 comment:

DC Chapman said...

Megan is an interesting choice as captain.
Courtnall wore an 'A' as a junior. Is he going to continue as an alternate captain? Escobedo, who really stepped up and played with a lot more discipline, would also appear to be be a good candidate for an 'A'.

Site Meter