Saturday, April 18, 2015

Grzelcyk to return, lead Terriers in 2015-16

The Terriers and many of their fans gathered last night at BU’s George Sherman Union to recognize the achievements of their Frozen Four season at the 52nd annual Friends of BU Hockey Banquet.  Eight perpetual awards were announced along with next season’s on-ice leaders.

Junior Matt Grzelcyk will return to BU next year and will wear the “C” for the Terriers once again. Juniors Danny O’Regan and Matt Lane and freshman Jack Eichel were named assistant captains.

Grzelcyk, who joined a long list of Terriers who have become AHCA First Team All-Americans also received the Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship, presented annually to an “outstanding rising junior or senior defenseman.”  The other award winners:

● Regina Eilberg Scholarship, given to the player who combines the highest standards of athletics and academics: junior Matt O’Connor.
● Bennett McInnis Memorial Spirit Award: seniors Cason Hohmann and Anthony Moccia
●Iron Terrier Award for dedication and discipline in the weight room: Cason Hohmann
●Most Improved Player: freshman Brien Diffley
●Ed Carpenter Award for Most Points: freshman Jack Eichel
●Friends Al Sidd Unsung Hero: Cason Hohmann
George V. Brown Most Valuable Player Award: Jack Eichel  

BU will open the 2015-2016 season in Schenectady, N.Y., with a game against Union College.  The schedule will include 22 Hockey East games, the Beanpot Tournament and Red Hot Hockey 5 against Cornell at Madison Square Garden. Among the other out-of-conference opponents are Michigan, Yale and Quinnipiac.
Boston Hockey Blog report  
WEEI Blog report report

 Earlier in the week at the annual BU Student-Athlete Awards reception, Hobey Baker Award winner Jack Eichel received the Mickey Cochrane Award as the university’s top male athlete.  The award is named for former BU football and baseball star Cochrane, who went on to become a member of the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame.

Women’s team captain Marie-Philip Poulin, who led BU to a fourth consecutive Hockey East championship and sixth straight NCAA tournament appearance, received the Mildred Barnes Award as the school’s top female athlete.

Senior goalie Anthony Moccia received the Terrier Pride Award, while senior forward Evan Rodrigues was a recipient of the John B. Simpson Award for best demonstrating enthusiasm and leadership. report

CHN’s Ryan Lambert compares Eichel’s freshman campaign with Paul Kariya’s 100 point rookie year at Maine.  

► O’Connor, an undrafted free agent, is expected to visit Ottawa for game three of the Senators’ playoff series with Montreal. Reports indicate that the goalie also will visit Edmonton, Vancouver, Buffalo and New York (Rangers).

Looking ahead
2016 recruit Vas Kolias scored a goal and added an assist for Youngstown in a 5-4 overtime loss to Muskegon in its playoff opener. Kolias, who skates on the Phantoms’ top defensive pairing, scored 17 points (3G, 14A) during regular-season action.

2016 recruit Kieffer Bellows scored the game-winning goal and added an assist as Sioux Falls opened its playoff series against Sioux City with a 5-1 win.

At the IIHF World U18 championships, 2015 recruits Charlie McAvoy and Jordan Greenway each recorded an assist in Team USA’s 10-0 rout of Slovakia. 2016 recruit Clayton Keller also is on the roster for Team USA, which next faces Sweden on Sunday. FASTHockey is livestreaming Team USA’s games for free. [ A FASTHockey account is required, but not a subscription].

No comments:

Site Meter