Sunday, April 21, 2013

Terriers to retire Parker’s number

Six weeks ago when Jack Parker announced that he’d step down at BU head hockey coach after 40 seasons, he reminded fans and the media that he has two daughters and more than 200 sons. He also noted that he’s “closer to Travis [Roy] than any of my players.”

That close relationship will be punctuated for BU fans every time this visit Agganis Arena because the uniform number Parker wore as a Terrier player and captain in the 1960s, #6, will soon take its place alongside Roy’s #24 as the only uniform numbers retired by BU.

BU athletic director Mike Lynch announced the uniform number retirement at last night’s 50th Annual Friends of BU Hockey Banquet emceed by Bernie Corbett. In addition recognizing the members of his final senior class, Parker, who wore #6 due to his admiration for Boston Celtics’ legend Bill Russell, offered words of praise for senior members of the BU band, the Daily Free Press writers and uber-fan Sasquatch. He also introduced former BU head coach Jack Kelley, who had been the driving force in organizing the Friends in 1962.

Six perpetual awards were handed out at the banquet:
● George V Brown Most Valuable Player Award presented by former Terrier captain Tom O'Regan presents to Wade Megan and Sean Escobedo.
● Ed Carpenter Leading Scorer Awards presented by former Sports Information Director Ed Carpenter to Danny O'Regan.
● Most Improved Player Award presented by former Terrier goalie Jim McCann to Cason Hohmann and Jake Moscatel.
● Friends of Hockey Al Sidd Unsung Hero Award presented by Coach Parker to Evan Rodrigues.
Bennett McGinnis Award for Spirit presented by Mike Eruzione to Ryan Santana.
● Mike Boyle Terrier of Steel Award for top Terrier in the weight room and with off-ice training. presented to Ryan Ruikka.

Other recognition included :
● Gerry Eilberg Scholarship Award for the player with the highest standard of athletic and academic performance to Matt O’Connor.
● Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship for an outstanding junior or senior defenseman to Garrett Noonan.
● Most Honored Opponent over the past 25 seasons to former BC former Brian Gionta. Blog contributor CDRAL points out that in 1988, the first most honored opponent award, covering 1963-1988, went to Cornell goalie Ken Dryden.
● Special recognition by Autism Speaks to Coach Parker and AD Lynch.

Among the former Terriers in attendance,in addition to those mentioned above, were:
Peter Brown, Bill McCormack, Terry Meagher, Scott Young, Darrell Abbott, Frank D'Orio, Dennis O'Connell, Paul Giandomenico,Vince Mullins, Travis Roy, Dan Ronan, Rich Brennan,  Tim Regan, and Scott Shaunessy.

USCHO report
Banquet photos on Friends of BU Hockey Twitter

No comments:

Site Meter