Saturday, April 13, 2019

National Rookie honors for Farabee

For the third time in the past five seasons, a Terrier is the recipient of the NCAA’s Tim Taylor Award for National Rookie of the Year. Joel Farabee, who led BU in both goals and points (37), adds this NCAA recognition to Hockey East honors: Rookie of the Year, All Hockey East Rookie Team and three Hockey East Rookie of the Week selections.

Like recent NCAA top rookie winners Jack Eichel (2015) and Clayton Keller (2017), Farabee is departing for the NHL after one season, having signed an entry-level contract with Philadelphia, which had drafted him 14th overall in the 2018 draft.  Kieran Millan, who backboned BU’s most recent NCAA championship, was the Taylor Award winner in 2009.

● report

● report

● NBC Sports report

Former Boston Hockey Blog writer Matt Martin makes a case for Patrick Curry to wear the C next season.

Looking ahead
Updating our report on the newsest BU 2022 recruit, Ryan Greene, a right-shot center who scored 81 points in 50 games for Selects Academy 15U. IIS scout Chris Mooring commenting on top Bantam prospects at the 2018 East Coast Ice Jam:

"He’s a playmaker first, he’s got a great set of wheels as well. He sees the ice and makes passes on the tape every time. He doesn’t need a lot of room to make that pass; he does it at full speed and in traffic."

NEHJ's Jeff Cox adds: "He’s a 200 foot center with skill and he can really skate."

2019 recruit Robert Mastrosimone scored his 31st goal—and 60th point—of the season in Chicago’s 6-5 win against Central Illinois. He’s tied for fourth in USHL goal-scoring.

Looking back
Jake Oettinger stopped 24 shots to gain his third win in the Texas Stars' 4-3 win against San Antonio.

No comments:

Site Meter