Friday, April 10, 2009

“Hobey” Gilroy leads parade of BU honorees

As widely expected throughout the college hockey community, Terrier co-captain and defenseman Matt Gilroy was named the 2009 Hobey Baker Award winner tonight at the Frozen Four in Washington, D.C. He is the second Terrier to win college hockey’s highest honor, following in the footsteps of former BU standout Chris Drury who won the award in 1998. Gilroy, who had been one of three “Hobey Hattrick” finalists, along with his teammate sophomore forward Colin Wilson and Northeastern goalie Brad Thiessen, received the award in a ceremony at the Verizon Center.

Gilroy also was named an ACHA First Team All-American today, joining Drury and Rick Meagher as the only three-time All-Americans in BU history. Wilson also earned First Team All-American honors, while sophomore defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk was named to the Second Team. Previous All-Americans.

In recent weeks, Gilroy had received the 57th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born Division I player in New England, and the College Hockey News’ Player of the Year Award . He also was named First Team Hockey East All-Star.

The fourth Terrier recognized tonight was freshman goalie Kieran Millan, who won the third annual Hockey Commissioners' Association National Division I Rookie of the Year award. Millan had previously been named Hockey East Rookie-of-the-Year.

More Hobey Baker media coverage
Hockey EastOnline

More All-American coverage

National Rookie-of-the-Year


No comments:

Site Meter