Tuesday, April 14, 2009

The Party Continues in Boston

(Boston Globe photo by John Tlumacki)

Terrier Nation massed along Commonwealth Avenue today for Boston's signature "Duck Boat Parade" to honor the 2009 NCAA Champions. Thousands turned out on a chilly, but sunny day and gathered in Marsh Plaza to celebrate with the players and coaches, who were introduced by longtime Voice of BU Hockey, Bernie Corbett. The six seniors each carried on of the trophies the team earned this season: IceBreaker, Denver Cup, Beanpot, Hockey East Regular Season, Hockey East Tournament and NCAA Frozen Four. Coach Jack Parker and co-captains John McCarthy and Matt Gilroy address the crowd, which also relived the highlights of Saturday's heart-stopping championship game on a jumbo video screen.

During the celebration, Mike Lynch revealed the Coach Parker had been named the 2009 recepient of the Spencer Penrose Award as Coach of the Year. The honor caps a year in which Parker garnered his 800th coaching win and third NCAA title. He had previously received the Coach of the Year award in 1975 and in 1978 when BU also won the national title.

Enjoy the sights and sounds of the celebration.

Blog contributor candycanes99 was in the midst of the crowd and provides a series of 11 video clips from today's celebration:

BU Today slide and sounds show

Boston Globe photo gallery
New England Cable Network
WBZ-TV (raw footage)
• USCHO's Scott Weighart reports on the celebration.

NESN photo gallery and video clips.

►Junior defenseman Eric Gryba, who celebrated his 21st birthday today, was interviewed following the NCAA tournament by Hockeysfuture.com.

► Somehow we missed a GoTerriers.com feature on senior wing Chris Higgins last week. Here it is.

Blog contributor CDRAL was in Washington, D.C., for the Frozen Four and shares a list of former Terrier players he encountered at the Verizon Center: Jack Garrity, Jim Todaro, Mike Eruzione, Joe Meehan, 1970 co-captains Larry Davenport and Dick Toomey, Mike O'Connell, Dennis O'Connell, Jack O'Callahan, Paul Giandomenico, Scott Manty, Steve Greeley, John Bethel,Brian Collins, Brad Zancanaro, Pat Aufiero, Brian Durocher, Don Cahoon, Dan Ronan, Michel Laroque, Bill Whelton, Peter Fish, Jack Baker, Mike DiMella, Chris O'Sullivan, Kevin Kielt, Todd Johnson, Eric Thomassian and Ryan Monoghan. If you were in D.C. and we missed you, please let us know.

No comments:

Site Meter