Sunday, April 19, 2009

Strait & Shattenkirk to lead Terriers in 2009-10

One week after the Terriers’ stirring last-minute comeback and overtime win in the NCAA championship game, the 2008-09 season officially came to a close with the 46th annual Friends of BU Hockey Banquet, attended by an estimated 600 including coaches, players, parents and friends.

Emceed by Bernie Corbett, the festivities featured remarks from the coaches and the six senior class members, among others; plus video highlights, a slides show, the team’s six trophies, the Hobey Baker Award, and the presentation of eight annual BU awards:

• Ed Carpenter Award (Top scorer) - Colin Wilson

• Kevin T. Mutch Award (Top player in BU-BC Series) - John McCarthy

• Regina Eilberg Scholarship - Joe Pereira

• Clifford P. Fitzgerald Scholarship (Returning defenseman) - Brian Strait

• Bennett McInnis Spirit Award - Steve Smolinsky

• Most Improved Player - Zack Cohen

• Friends/ Albert Sidd Unsung Hero Award - John McCarthy

• George V. Brown Most Valuable Player Award - Matt Gilroy

Senior-to-be Brian Strait and rising sophomore Kevin Shattenkirk were unanimously voted co-captains for next season by their teammates. Both players had been captain of the U.S. NTDP U18 team prior to arriving at BU. Freshman David Warsofsky held the same position a year ago.
The Terriers will be recognized next Sunday night at Fenway Park prior to the Yankees-Red Sox game. If the experience of the 1995 team is repeated, one of the BU seniors will be invited to throw out the first pitch.

Newsday reports that Matt Gilroy will take in tomorrow night’s Rangers-Capitals game at Madison Square and it will be the first Rangers game for him in that building. The article failed to mention that Gilroy had already skated at MSG when BU beat Cornell in 2007 in the Red Hot Hockey matchup. He's also visited the Garden frequently for St. John's basketball games. Matt's father, Frank, was a standout player for St. John's between 1977 and 1981.

No comments:

Site Meter